Whats Involved

Bikeability replaced the cycling proficiency. It is delivered in three levels.

This requires a minimum of 8 hours delivery per level to ensure the candidate has of sound ability to progress onto the next level.

It is important that level one is achieved before progressing onto level two and level two achieved before advancing to level three.


The Bikeability Level 1 course aims to develop mastery in cycle handling in an off-road environment and prepare riders for cycling on the road. Riders must be able to cycle (i.e. pedal and glide) to participate in Bikeability Level 1.

Bikeability L1
Bikeability L2


The Bikeability Level 2 course aims to develop riders’ skills and confidence for cycling on single-lane roads and simple junctions , and prepares riders for cycling on more complex, busier or faster roads and junctions.

Riders must have fully demonstrated Bikeability Level 1 National Standard assessment criteria before they start Bikeability Level 2 training.


The Bikeability Level 3 course aims to develop riders’ skills and confidence so they can ride in diverse road environments, including complex, often busy roads and junctions, sometimes with speed limits above 30 mph.

Successful demonstration of National Standard assessment criteria in Bikeability Level 2 is a prerequisite for participation in Bikeability Level 3.

Bikeability L3

Bikeability is government-recognised, practical and professional training. Upon achieving the levels cyclists are more skilled and more confident once they’ve taken part.

Bikeability Level 3 training is delivered one-to-one or in groups of up to 3 so can be tailored to a riders individual needs. Gert in contact to discuss your requirements.


Scroll to top